Posted on April 18, 2024 by Katelyn Juarez

Clinical Mental Health Counseling Students

Clinical Mental Health Counseling Students

ALEXANDRIA, Va. – A team of students from the Counseling Department of UTSA’s College of Education and Human Development received first place in the American Counseling Association’s (ACA) Ethics Competition.

Every year the ACA recognizes excellence in research, career, and humanitarian achievement among counseling professionals and students with its awards and honors program. This year’s awards were presented at ACA’s 2024 Conference and Expo in New Orleans from April 11-13.

Travis Walker, Emma Tharp, and Elaine Oyama, with Barbara Herlihy, Ph.D., serving as their advisor, won first place in the Graduate Student Ethics Competition in the master’s category. This award recognized exceptional and demonstrable understanding of the ACA Code of Ethics—the foundation of ethical professional counseling practice. This category was separated into master’s and doctoral students.

The ACA is a not-for-profit professional and educational organization dedicated to the growth and enhancement of the counseling profession. Representing nearly 60,000 members, the ACA is the world’s largest association that exclusively represents professional counselors in various practice settings.

— Katelyn Juarez