UTSA | COEHD | University of Texas at San Antonio | College of Edcuation and Human Development
Update: UTSA's ongoing monitoring of the Coronavirus outbreak
Sun, September 20, 2020

COEHD Faculty elected positions in American Educational Research Association (AERA)

by |    |    

Bookmark and Share

The American Educational Research Association (AERA) recently announced election results for key members to represent the AERA council, which proudly includes faculty members from the College of Education and Human Development.

Dr. Mariela Rodríguez, professor in the Educational Leadership and Policy Studies department, has been voted Vice President-Elect of Division A: Administration, Organization, & Leadership. Dr. Rodríguez will serve her term for three years starting in April 2021. "This is an incredible honor and accomplishment and we are proud to have Dr. Rodríguez serve in this important position. It speaks directly to her excellence as a scholar her impact on the discipline," said the Dean of the College of Education and Human Development, Dr. Margo DelliCarpini in a statement. 

Dr. Van Lac, assistant professor in the Educational Leadership and Policy Studies department, has been appointed elected Communications Officer for the Grassroots Community & Youth Organizing for Education Reform Special Interest Group (SIG) within AERA. Dr. Lac will serve her term for two years beginning in April 2020. Along with this accomplishment, the Spencer Foundation has awarded Dr. Lac with the Spencer Small Grant Award. The award will sponsor her project “Why PAR? Utilizing Participatory Action Research as a Community-Based Approach to Educational Leadership and Principal Preparation” for a total of $50,000 in funding. 

AERA is a national research society, with the mission to advance knowledge about education, to encourage scholarly inquiry related to education, and to promote the use of research to improve education and serve the public good.

Read the press release here: https://www.aera.net/Newsroom/Nailah-Suad-Nasir-Voted-AERA-President-Elect-Key-Members-Elected-to-AERA-Council

For more information on the American Educational Research Association: https://www.aera.net/

For more information on the Spencer Foundation: https://www.spencer.org/

Rodriguez photo

UTSA College of Education and Human Development

Phone: 210-458-4370