Theodorea Regina Berry



Theodorea Regina Berry, EdD, Associate Professor, Department of Interdisciplinary Learning and Teaching.  Dr. Berry is also currently serving as Associate Dean of Academic Affairs and Director of Graduate Recruitment and Engagement in the Graduate School.  She has a Doctorate of Education degree from National-Louis University (2002) in Curriculum and Social Inquiry and completed a three year post-doctoral research fellowship (2002-2005) at the University of Illinois-Chicago awarded by the American Educational Research Association.  Dr. Berry’s scholarship focuses on the lived experiences of women of color as pre-service teachers and teacher educators, critical examination of race. ethnicity, and gender for teaching and teacher education, critical race theory/critical race feminism, qualitative research methodology, and curriculum theory. 

Theodorea Berry currently serves as Vice President for the Foundation for Curriculum Theory, Co-Chair, Membership Committee for the American Association for the Advancement of Curriculum Studies (AAACS), and Member-at-Large for the Executive Council of the American Educational Studies Association (AESA).  Dr. Berry is a Past President, Critical Race Studies in Education Association (2012),Past President of the Georgia Educational Research Association (GERA)(2013), and Past Chair, Critical Examination of Race, Ethnicity, Class, and Gender Special Interest Group of the American Educational Research Association (AERA)(2009-2012).  Dr. Berry is Senior Co-Editor for the International Journal of Curriculum and Social Justice, Associate Editor, Journal of Curriculum Theorizing, and Editorial Board Member for Race, Ethnicity, and Education.

Dr. Berry has published several articles and book chapters and is lead editor and contributing author of From Oppression to Grace: Women of Color and their Dilemmas Within the Academy (2006, Stylus Publishing).  She is also co-editor of The Evolving Significance of Race in Education: Living, Learning, and Teaching (with Sherick Hughes, Peter Lang).